La Miel River Watershed

La Miel Watershed is located in Colombia at the eastern slopes of the Central Cordillera. The watershed has an area of 1,105 km2 and it comprises six municipalities in the Caldas Department: Samana, Pensilvania, Norcasia, Victoria, Marquetalia, and Manzanares. Caldas hosts one of the tallest dams in the world, which is used for energy generation (Miel Hydropower Plant). The total watershed area to the dam is 770 km2.

Some of the main rivers and lakes of the watershed are Tenerife River, Moro River, Manso River, Pensilvania River, Salado River, Samana River, Dulce River, Negra Creek y Lake San Diego.